SUNY New Paltz welcomes master teachers

SUNY New Paltz is hosting 20 math and science teachers from 13 school districts throughout the Mid-Hudson Valley as part of its Master Teachers Program (MTP). The new statewide initiative aims to identify, reward, and support master math and science teachers throughout New York State.

In Oct., Gov. Andrew Cuomo announced the selection of 104 educators from four regions as the first group of New York State master teachers. Each regional program is paired with a SUNY campus to engage in peer mentoring and provide participants with intensive content-oriented professional development opportunities throughout the academic year.

“Following a very rigorous interview and application process, we are thrilled to welcome such a distinguished group of science and math teachers from our region,” said Michael Rosenberg, dean of the School of Education. “Recognizing that teacher development is a college-wide activity, SUNY New Paltz has an established team of education faculty, interdisciplinary content experts, enthusiastic school district partners, and supportive administrators. We believe we are well-positioned to contribute to this program’s goals of cutting edge professional development and collaborative support, ultimately enhancing the quality of math and science instruction in all of our state’s schools.”

New Paltz welcomed master teachers at its first program cohort meeting on Tuesday, Nov.5. After a brief overview of the program, the group shared thoughts about their professional development goals. Energized, the master teachers then gathered to finish the evening collaborating in groups of Professional Learning Teams (PLTs) to begin the process of designing professional development of interest to the PLT.

According to Rosemary Millham, director of the Master Teacher Program at SUNY New Paltz, “Our goals for the program focus deeply on three realms of professional development for teachers including content area, pedagogical practices, and understanding of students. To this end, teachers identify what it is they want or need to explore for professional growth through the development of Professional Learning Teams to design and implement mini-courses, workshops, and seminars to meet these professional goals.”

Additionally, master teachers will be encouraged to become involved in scientific and/or mathematical research to support professional goals, be required to mentor the School of Education pre-service teachers, and provide meaningful leadership at their district and school levels through workshops and mentoring early career teachers.

Under the NYS Master Teacher program, high-performing secondary science and mathematics (STEM) teachers who make a commitment to the requirements of the program will receive $15,000 annually over four years and then become mentors for and new master teachers as well as teachers within their districts. This program will be administered through SUNY System Administration and be fully funded through the Governor’s Office.

For more information about the NYS Master Teacher Program visit

The first group of SUNY New Paltz Master Teachers includes:

• Donna Bolner, Arlington Central School District
• Lisa Roloson, Arlington Central School District
• Liana Gertzer, Clarkstown Central School District
• Zhanna Glazenburg, Croton-Harmon School District
• Ernest VanderKruik, Florida Union Free School District
• Colleen Bucci, Hyde Park Central School District
• Deborah Kravchuk, Hyde Park Central School District
• Dorothy Lehsau-Findlay, Hyde Park Central School District
• Elisha Byers, Irvington Union Free School District
• Deanna Rizzo, Kingston City Schools
• Martha Brunelle, Middletown City School District
• AileenToback, Newburgh Enlarged City School District
• Juan Urena, Newburgh Enlarged City School District
• Beverly Browne Fazio, Newburgh Enlarged City School District
• Natalie Morales, Newburgh Enlarged City School District
• Deborah Mosher, Red Hook Central School District
• Kristin Koegel, Rhinebeck Central School District
• Leah Leibacher, Wappingers Central School District
• Kelly-Anne Clinchy, Yorktown Central School District
• Sheryl Goldberg, Yorktown Central School District