Strategic Planning Steering Committee Membership Announced

Faculty and Staff:

Background and Strategic Planning Website.  Patricia Sullivan and Stella Turk, co-chairs of the Strategic Planning Steering Committee, recently shared with you highlights from last week’s kick-off meeting and introduced you to the planning website (  I encourage you to learn about the process by visiting the website and to participate in our planning, which will establish institutional-level goals or objectives to focus our improvement during the next 3-5 years, and 6-8 tasks or projects that the College will complete during that time to achieve those objectives.

The Importance of Planning.  I identified the importance of such planning in my letter of application for the presidency, and have referred to it in subsequent reports, meetings, and addresses (State of the College 2011 and State of the College 2012; inaugural address; other monthly reports).  The time is right for us to launch this process, to develop a plan that lays out clear priorities and action steps by the end of the academic year.

Campus Participation.  You may be contacted in the coming weeks to participate in interviews with the consultant October 9-12 or in an extended planning retreat on November 3.  The committee will provide regular updates, and the process will include abundant opportunity for community feedback on the draft plan during spring semester.

Steering Committee Membership.  I am grateful to all of the members of the Steering Committee for their willingness to guide this process, and to faculty governance leaders for their help in identifying members at the start of the year so that we can follow our timeline.  The membership of the Committee is as follows:

Academic Faculty:
Patricia Sullivan (Co-Chair), Professor, Communication & Media, Interim Director of Honors
Stella Turk (Co-Chair), Instructor, Communication Disorders, Associate Dean, LA&S
Mary Christensen, Associate Professor and Chair, Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Peter Kaufman, Associate Professor, Sociology
Paul Kassel, Associate Professor, Theatre Arts, and Associate Dean, F&PA
Stacie Nunes, Assistant Professor and Chair, Physics & Astronomy
Tom Meyer, Associate Professor, Secondary Education

Professional Faculty:
Lucy Walker, Senior Research Analyst, Office of Institutional Research & Planning
Stuart Robinson, Athletic Director, Department of Athletics, Wellness & Recreation
Mary Kastner, Director of Design, Print and Mail Services, Office of Communication & Marketing (and alumna)

Philip Mauceri, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
Mary Hafeli, Dean, Fine and Performing Arts
Jon Lewit, Assistant Vice President of Institutional Technology

College Council and Alumna:  Bythema Bagley

Students(2):       To be Named

Foundation Board: Mary Etta Schneider

Classified Staff: Tegan Scism, Clerk 2, Records & Registration

I thank you in advance for your participation in this important planning process, and for your support of the Steering Committee in its work.

Donald P. Christian

Comments are closed.