SUNY New Paltz Foundation Board welcomes new directors, first female chair in the Board’s history

The College is proud to announce the 2022 election of SUNY New Paltz Foundation Board directors T. Dion Baccus ’92 (Finance & Business Administration, Black Studies), Barbara (Bobbi) Esmark ’84 (Painting), Sharif Jamal, Ita Rahilly, Ira Schreck ’74 (Philosophy), and Jessica Sillins. Directors serve three-year terms.

Tamah Wiegand will serve as the Board Chair and is the first female Chair in the 46-year history of the Foundation. Wiegand replaces former Board Chair Leonard Boccia ’89 (Business Administration), who stepped down after serving as a director for more than a decade. In addition to his role as Board Chair, Boccia took on several officer roles including treasurer and first vice chair.

New officers elected (in addition to Wiegand) are Col. Joseph Davidson ’90 (Political Science) as first vice chair and Jeffrey Korn ’79 (Communication Studies, Political Science) as second vice chair. They are joined by Fitzarnaz Drummond ’06 (Finance & Management) who will continue to serve as treasurer and Myra Kressner ’76 (Secondary Education: English) who continues as secretary. Officers are elected to one-year terms in their role.

“We’re thrilled to welcome our new directors to the Foundation Board and look forward to their contributions to supporting students and the greater New Paltz community,” said Erica Marks, Vice President, Development & Alumni Relations and Executive Director, SUNY New Paltz Foundation. “Their dedication to the College and the Foundation will impact the College for many years to come.”

New Directors Elected to the Board FY2022

Dion Baccus ’92 (Finance & Business Administration, Black Studies)

Barbara (Bobbi) Esmark ’84 (Painting)

Sharif Jamal

Ita Rahilly

Ira Schreck ’74 (Philosophy)

Jessica Sillins


Elected Officers (One-Year Terms)

Chair/ Tamah Wiegand

First Vice Chair/Joseph Davidson ’90 (Political Science)

Second Vice Chair/Jeffrey Korn ’79 (Communication Studies, Political Science)

Treasurer/Fitzarnaz Drummond ’06 (Finance and Management)

Secretary/Myra Kressner ’76 (Adolescence Education: English)


Directors reelected to three-year Board terms

Philip M. Berkowitz ’75 (Journalism)

Edward Carroll ’85 (Communication), ’22 HON

Tamah Wiegand

The Foundation also welcomes new committee members joining the board in non-director roles, including journalist and television personality Jenna Flanagan, who will serve on the Development Committee, Newburgh councilman and educator Anthony Grice, who earned a certificate of advanced study in educational administration from SUNY New Paltz in 2008, will join the Governance & Nominating Committee, and Paul Tucci who will serve on the Audit Committee after a very long and accomplished career for the State University of New York. They join long-time committee members Jason Dahl ’90 (Business Administration) and Everton Henriques ’78 (Education: Chemistry) ‘83g (Chemistry) ’22 HON.

About the SUNY New Paltz Foundation

Founded in 1976, the SUNY New Paltz Foundation works to enrich the quality of academic life at New Paltz by raising private contributions. Gifts to the Foundation enhance the teaching, learning and discovery that takes place on campus, and allow New Paltz to enrich the cultural, economic and social fabric of the Mid-Hudson region. Visit the SUNY New Paltz Foundation Board online for more information.