Sojourner Truth Library Dean search committee membership and timeline

The search for the next Dean of the Sojourner Truth Library at SUNY New Paltz is now underway.

Provost Barbara Lyman has selected the following campus community members to serve on the search committee:

Jeni Mokren – Dean of Fine & Performing Arts (Committee Co-chair)
Thomas Olsen – Associate Professor, Department of English (Committee Co-chair)
Anne Deutsch
– Associate Librarian
Chrissy O’Grady – Senior Assistant Librarian: Research & Education Librarian and Library Instruction Program Coordinator
Madeline Veitch – Associate Librarian: Collection Development & Zine Librarian
Kim Alessi – Circulation Supervisor, Library Clerk II
Jeungeun Park – Assistant Professor, Department of Mathematics
Susan Tomaski – Lecturer, School of Business
Dante Cantú – Executive Director of Academic Advising and Student Success
Amanda Merritt – Assistant to the Dean of Education
Dakota Rose ’21 ’23g – Graduate Student, Teaching Assistant, Department of English
Abigail Rosenthal ’23 – Undergraduate Student, Honors Program, Library Employee

The committee has been asked to move this search forward quickly in order to have the new Dean in place by mid-January 2023. Below are some milestones in the search timeline. The search committee hopes to have broad engagement with the campus community during the finalist visits to campus.

May – Library listening sessions & search committee meets to finalize position description and recruitment plan

July 1 – Position is advertised

Nov. 1-10 – Campus visits with finalists

Jan. 5 – Campus announcement of new Dean

Jan. 15 – New Dean begins