SUNY New Paltz Foundation Board welcomes new directors, renews terms

SUNY New Paltz is proud to announce recently elected SUNY New Paltz Foundation Board officers and directors, including newcomers Paul C. Llewellyn ’91 (International Relations), Rebeca Quintanilla, and David Walton ’06 (Metal). New terms on the Board began July 1. Directors all serve for three-year terms and officers for one-year terms.

“We are very grateful to these distinguished volunteer leaders who serve our community and students,” said Executive Director of the Foundation and Vice President for Development and Alumni Relations at SUNY New Paltz Erica Marks. “They are exceptionally well-qualified to lead the Foundation and establish the relationships needed to accomplish the College’s strategic goals.”

Newly elected to the Board FY2020

Paul C. Llewellyn ’91 earned a law degree in 1995 from Columbia Law School. He is a partner at the law firm Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer LLP, where he practices trademark, copyright and false advertising law for a variety of large and small clients, including major companies such as Hershey and Pfizer and various individual pro bono clients.

Rebeca Quintanilla has enjoyed 25 years of global experience working within the energy commodities space.  Previously, Quintanilla was the director of North American business development for Mercuria Energy Trading, one of the largest independent energy and commodity groups. Prior to joining Mercuria, Rebeca held several business development roles at top-tier global trading companies.

David Walton ’06 is the founder and president of Hudson Valley Goldsmith (HVG). David previously served as the Secretary of the Cottekill Fire Company and on the Board of Commissioners for the Cottekill Fire District. David and his wife, fellow SUNY New Paltz alumna Sara C. Walton, are proud supporters of the SUNY New Paltz Metal General Fund and started the David and Sara Walton Metal Thesis Support Fund.

Elected officers and Board Directors elected to renewed terms are outlined below:

Officers (One-Year Terms)

Chair/Leonard Boccia ’89 (Finance and Marketing)

First Vice Chair/Regina Calcaterra ’88 (Political Science)

Second Vice Chair/Joseph Davidson ’90 (Political Science)

Treasurer/Fitzarnaz Drummond ’06 (Finance and Management)

Secretary/Myra Kressner ’76 (Adolescence Education: English)


Reelected to three-year Board terms

Joseph Davidson ’90 (Political Science)

Jeffrey Korn ’79 (Communication; Political Science)

Susan Najork ’67  ’70g (Elementary Education)

James Passikoff

Giancarlo Traverso


Founded in 1976, the Foundation works to enrich the quality of academic life at New Paltz by raising private contributions. Gifts to the SUNY New Paltz Foundation enhance the teaching, learning, and discovery that takes place on campus, and allow New Paltz to enrich the cultural, economic and social fabric of the Mid-Hudson region. Visit the SUNY New Paltz Foundation Board online for more information.