Congratulating faculty authors at the Sojourner Truth Library

Members of the SUNY New Paltz community of scholars, educators and learners extended a favorite tradition at the College this week, at the annual Celebration of Faculty Authors on Feb. 13.

The Sojourner Truth Library convenes this event each year in observation of the time and energy it takes to create a book, or any other scholarly or creative work.

This semester’s gathering recognized not only faculty members who published academic research in 2017, but also writers of fiction and poetry, collection editors, translators and film directors.

“In five years we’ve hosted this event in four different locations,” said W. Mark Colvson, dean of the Sojourner Truth Library. “But through all the changes, one thing has remained constant: the high quality and quantity of our faculty’s intellectual and creative output.”

The following faculty members were recognized for their publications at the 2018 Celebration:

David Appelbaum, Philosophy
Emily Barton, Writer in Residence
Mary Christensen
, Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Thomas Festa
, English
Howie Good, Digital Media & Journalism
Carol Goodman, English
Eugene Heath, Philosophy
Sara Hsu, Economics
Heinz Insu Fenkl, English
Aaron Isabelle, Education
Shirley Johnson-Lans, Economics
Susan Lewis, History
Christopher Nostrand
, Digital Media
Kenneth Nystrom
, Anthropology
Louis Roper, History
Michael Rosenberg, Education
Akira Shimada, History
Karla Vermeulen, Institute for Disaster Mental Health
Michelle Woods, English
Jason Wrench, Communication
Russell Zwanka, Marketing

More information about the Sojourner Truth Library is available online.