Ten CAS Scholarship winners announced

The Campus Auxiliary Services (CAS) Board of Directors has awarded the Jim Fredericks Student Employee Scholarship, which honors student excellence in serving the campus community as a member of the CAS team.

The following student employees were recognized for bringing a positive attitude to work on a regular basis, while still maintaining a balanced schedule and fulfilling all academic responsibilities:CAS-Line-Logo

Jayne M. Cosh ’17 (Undeclared)
Emily Kennedy ’15 (Women’s, Gender & Sexuality Studies)
Danielle E. Cosh ’15 (General Business)
Steven Keller ’16 (History)
Destiny Carter ’15 (Black Studies, Sociology – Criminology)
Eugenia Baidoo ’17 (Undeclared: Pre-Mathematics)
Roniel Urena ’16 (Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Spanish)
Jahsin Mendez ’16 (Biology – Organismal/Environmental)
Molly Salzmann ’16 (Communication Disorders)
Alyssa Rubin ’18 (Undeclared: Pre-Accounting)

The Jim Fredericks Student Employee Scholarship has been given annually at New Paltz since 1989. It is named in honor of the CAS executive director who served the College from 1984 until his death in 1995.

All current full-time students receiving paychecks from CAS, Sodexo Dining Services, or Nebraska Book Company are eligible to apply for the scholarship. Applicants are required to write short essays explaining why working in auxiliary services is a positive experience. Comments on their work attitudes and reliability are provided by their supervisors, prior to an application review by a sub-committee of the CAS Board of Directors. Only ten of the more-than 100 CAS student employees receive the annual award.