SUNY New Paltz School of Business announces 2014 Hall of Fame inductees

The School of Business at the State University of New York at New Paltz is pleased to announce the 2014 Hall of Fame inductees. The Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held on Thursday, May 8 at the Wiltwyck Country Club in Kingston, N.Y., from 5 – 7:30 p.m.

Established in 2001, the Hall of Fame recognizes and acknowledges the achievements of those who have made significant contributions to their respective business professions, and had a positive impact on the educational activities of the school.

This year’s inductees include: Health Quest, Business of the Year; Rural Ulster Preservation Company (RUPCO), Dean’s Award of Excellence; Rebecca Hasbrouck ’00, ’04g, Alumnus of the Year; and Elizabeth Sydney ’14, Student Leader of the Year.

Business of the Year: Health Quest
Health Quest, as the Mid-Hudson Valley’s largest integrated healthcare system, provides a continuum of care for the more than one million residents in its service area. This includes Northern Dutchess Hospital, Putnam Hospital, Vassar Brothers Medical Center, Health Quest Medical Practice, a long- term care facility, a radiation oncology center, urgent care centers, and a home care service. The system employs over 4,000 individuals; affiliates with higher educations institutions, including SUNY New Paltz; conducts research; and is recognized for clinical excellence.

Dean’s Award of Excellence: Rural Ulster Preservation Company (RUPCO)
Established in 1981, RUPCO is a non-profit agency with the mission of creating homes, supporting people, and improving communities. The agency is the region’s leading provider and advocate of quality, affordable housing and community development programs geared toward providing opportunities to revitalize communities through development, improvement, preservation, and the addition of housing throughout the region. Since 2009, RUPCO has actively supported the SUNY New Paltz Internship Program, with approximately 20 interns working at the agency.

Rebecca Hasbrouck SOB
Rebecca Hasbrouck

Alumnus of the Year: Rebecca Hasbrouck ’00, ’04g    
Rebecca Hasbrouck graduated summa cum laude in 2000 with a bachelor’s degree in accounting, and in 2004 she received an MBA from New Paltz. Since graduation she has earned the professional letters of CPA (2006), CITP (2011), and CGMA (2012).

Hasbrouck joined the firm Vanacore, DeBenedictus, DiGovanni & Weddell in 2002 and has since held several positions at the firm. These include: in-charge accountant, senior accountant, supervisor, and manager. To assist her in reaching her goal of making partner, Hasbrouck is currently attending the Partner Development Program sponsored by McGladrey.

Hasbrouck served as an adjunct professor at SUNY New Paltz ( 2010-2012) and Marist College (2008-2009), and is the recipient of the 40 Under 40 Shaker Award (2011), the Orange County Rising Stars Award (2010), and the NYSSCPA Student of the Year Award (1999).

Elizabeth Sydney
Elizabeth Sydney

Student Leader of the Year: Elizabeth Sydney
Elizabeth Sydney ’14 (pre-MBA) has consistently applied her outstanding management, marketing, and organizational skills as the president of the collegiate chapter of the American Marketing Association (AMA) at SUNY New Paltz since being elected to the position in 2013. Her leadership experience includes service on several advisory boards, including the President of Dean’s Student Advisory Board (2012-present), the Dean’s Student Advisory Board (2010-present), and the Vice President of Dean’s Student Advisory Board (2011-2012). In addition, she served as vice president of programming of the American Marketing Association (2012-2013), and currently serves as a member of the Mentor Program (2010-present) in the School of Business.

This year’s Hall of Fame presenting sponsor is M&T Bank. Business sponsors include: Community Foundation of Orange and Sullivan, Empire State Bank, and Timely Signs of Kingston, Inc. Company sponsors include: Hudson Valley Federal Credit Union and Mid-Hudson Valley Federal Credit Union.

The School of Business, an accredited member of AACSB International, offers Bachelor of Science degrees in accounting, finance, general business, international business, marketing, and management, as well as a Master in Business Administration (MBA) and an MBA in public accountancy to about 950 undergraduate and graduate students.

For more information about the School of Business visit or call (845) 257-2930.