School of Business recognizes exemplary faculty and staff

The School of Business at the State University of New York at New Paltz announces the 2010 recipients of its service and teaching awards.

Dr. Chih-Yang Tsai and Dr. Davina Vora will receive the Distinguished Service Award and the Distinguished Teaching Award, respectively. School of Business staff member Danielle Semenchuk will receive the Staff Service Award.

Created in 2008, the awards recognize members of the school’s faculty and staff who demonstrated outstanding service and teaching effectiveness.
The faculty and staff will receive their awards during the School of Business’s Annual Award Ceremony, which will also include the Honor Society induction and presentation of student academic and service awards, on May 7 in the Coykendall Science Building Auditorium.

“I am pleased and honored to recognize the extraordinary professional services of our School’s star faculty and staff members – they have truly earned this recognition,” said Hadi Salavitabar, dean of the School of Business.

Salavitabar said, "Tsai has demonstrated exemplary leadership as the associate dean and commitment to the school by successfully leading our continuous improvement programs, mentoring our students, and facilitating our educational assessment activities.

Vora, who teaches our international business related courses, consistently receives excellent evaluations from students, and is known for incorporating variety of innovative techniques to make students’ learning very interactive.

Semenchuk, director of business projects, leads many educational programs and projects that extend students’ educational experiences beyond classroom. Her attention to details and commitment to students’ education and experiences at New Paltz are very much appreciated by the students, faculty and college staff.”

For more information about the School of Business, visit