School of Liberal Arts and Sciences names Teachers of the Year

NEW PALTZ — The School of Liberal Arts and Sciences at the State University of New York at New Paltz has chosen Joel Lefkowitz and Larry Carr as the 2005-2006 Teachers of the Year. The awards were announced by Gerald Benjamin, dean of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Lefkowitz, an associate professor in the political science department, was chosen from among the college’s full-time professors. He has taught at the college for seven years. Carr was selected from among the part-time teachers. He has taught dramatic and creative writing at New Paltz for 10 years.

“They work exceedingly hard and effectively, both within and outside the classroom, to assure that our students receive the very highest quality education,” Benjamin said. “I am pleased to be able to award their work, and honored to number them among my colleagues.”

Their names will be added to the “Teacher of the Year” plaque, located in the lobby of the Jacobson Faculty Tower, and $1,000 from the college’s budget will be set aside for each professor to use for professional development.

Selections for this annual award are based on recommendations from a Liberal Arts and Sciences Senate committee.

Note to editors: Photographs of Larry Carr and Joel Lefkowitz are available on the SUNY New Paltz Web site at and at