SUNY New Paltz Holds Annual Sports Banquet

NEW PALTZ, NY — The SUNY New Paltz Department of Athletics held its annual sports banquet on Thursday evening (May 12) to honor its student-athletes.

Seniors Kent Yeung (Flushing, NY) and Bryan Smith (Washingtonville, NY) were the co-recipients of the Heinz Ahlmeyer Award. The award is presented annually to a junior or senior athlete with at least two years of varsity participation whose dedication, perseverance and service throughout his or her athletic career at SUNY New Paltz has been an inspiration to both his or her teammates and fellow students.

Yeung was a four-year member of the menýs swimming team and a two-time SUNYAC Champion in the 100-yard backstroke. This winter he was the co-recipient of the James Fulton Award given annually at the conference championship to the male swimmer who combines athletic accomplishment with academic achievement over a four-year period.

Smith helped lead the menýs soccer team into the semifinals of the SUNYAC Tournament this fall. A team captain, Smith started 14 games at midfield while helping the Hawks post 12 wins; their highest victory total since the 1970 season. A four-year member of the menýs soccer program, Smith registered 25 points on five goals and 15 assists during his career.

This marks just the third time in 39-year history of the award that there were co-recipients.

Junior Joanna Masterson (Canandaigua, NY) earned the Carol Eckman Award. Given to the top female athlete of the year, Masterson captured three conference titles at the SUNYAC Womenýs Swimming & Diving Championship in February. In addition, Masterson went on to compete at the NCAA Division III Championship in the 50, 100 and 200-yard freestyle events.

Senior Mike LaRocco (Hauppauge, NY) claimed the Floyd Paterson Award as the top male athlete of the year. LaRocco played a key role in leading the menýs volleyball team to a 26-11 record and an appearance in the ECAC Tournament. LaRocco surpassed the 1,000 career-kill mark this season and stands in third place on the programýs all-time list with 1,138. In addition, LaRocco became the programýs all-time leader in digs with 778.

Junior Kelly Long (Endwell, NY) and sophomore Jeff Sosis (New Rochelle, NY) were the recipients of the Donald Bishko Award. The Donald Bishko Award is given each year to the male and female student-athlete who had the highest grade point average at the conclusion of the fall semester. A member of the womenýs volleyball team, Long earned a 4.0 grade point average as an Asian Studies major. She was a Second Team All-SUNYAC selection after recording a team-best 2.87 digs per game. Sosis, a member of the baseball team, played in 24 games as an infielder and batted .320 with four runs batted in. He earned a grade point average of 3.8 while majoring in accounting.

The Ken Burda Sportsmanship Award was presented to seniors Shawn Livingston (Kings Park, NY) and Danielle Zakrzewski (Flushing, NY). A member of the menýs volleyball team, Livingston, a libero, played in 119 games and averaged a team-high 1.81 digs per game. Zakrzewski started 12 games behind the plate for the softball team and drove in three runs.

In addition, the following student-athletes were named the Most Valuable Player of their team for the 2004-05 year:

Baseball ý John DeKams (Kings Park, NY)

Menýs Basketball ý John Hauser (East Williston, NY) and Amseshem Foluke-Henderson (Jamaica, NY)

Womenýs Basketball ý Kim Weigel (Whitestone, NY)

Menýs Cross Country – Harry Sudwischer (Copaigue, NY)

Womenýs Cross Country – Janet Walsh (Baldwinsville, NY)

Field Hockey – Kate Schoonmaker (High Falls, NY)

Menýs Soccer – Mike Dodge (Ridge, NY)

Womenýs Soccer – Lauren Pastore (Levittown, NY)

Softball ý Jen Born (Walworth, NY)

Menýs Swimming ý Kent Yeung (Flushing, NY)

Womenýs Swimming ý Joanna Masterson (Canandaigua, NY)

Womenýs Tennis ý Kerry Farrell (Rockville Center, NY)

Menýs Volleyball ý Chris Ganje (Halfmoon, NY)

Womenýs Volleyball ý Andrea Kaiser (Blue Point, NY)