SUNY New Paltz School of Education recognizes eight area teachers for excellence

NEW PALTZ — The School of Education at the State University of New York at New Paltz will award eight of the region’s teachers with the 2004 Dean’s Award for Excellence in Teaching at 4:30 p.m., Sept. 21, at a ceremony to be held at The Terrace Restaurant on the New Paltz campus.

Since 1984, the School of Education at New Paltz has collaborated with area school administrators and the Mid-Hudson School Study Council to recognize teachers in the Mid-Hudson Valley for being superior in their fields and endeavors.

“The School of Education is proud to honor these outstanding educators,” said Dr. Robert J. Michael, dean of the SUNY New Paltz School of Education. “We, indeed, take pride in this celebration of outstanding teaching.”

As recipients of this award, each of the eight teachers will receive an honorary appointment as an adjunct clinical professor within New Paltz’s School of Education. They will also be recognized by the Mid-Hudson School Study Council at a ceremony later this year.

Nominations for outstanding teachers are made by school principals and district superintendents. The awards are given by the office of the dean of education at SUNY New Paltz based on recommendations from a review committee of education professionals. The winners are teachers who have demonstrated their commitment to teaching, to excellence and, most importantly, to children and their education.

Recipients of the 2004 awards are: Edward O’Connor (Arlington Central School District); Sandy Crespo (Florida Union Free School District); Charles Rapalje (Newburgh Enlarged City School District); Gregory Murin (Brewster Central School District); Marty Rafson (Clarkstown School District); Deborah Eiken (Monticello Central School District); Ruth Backenroth (Ulster BOCES); and Danielle Raab (Lakeland Central School District).